Acts: Lessons In Faith – Introduction

You're reading ACTS: LESSONS IN FAITH, by Eric Elder, featuring thirty inspiring devotionals based on the lives of the very first followers of Christ. Also available in paperback and eBook formats in our bookstore for a donation of any size!

You’re reading ACTS: LESSONS IN FAITH, by Eric Elder, featuring thirty inspiring devotionals based on the lives of the very first followers of Christ. Also available in paperback and eBook formats in our bookstore for a donation of any size!

How To Find, Increase And Express Your Faith In Christ
by Eric Elder

Thirty inspiring devotionals based on the lives of the very first followers of Christ.

INTRODUCTION

Scripture Reading: Acts 27:25

One of my favorite lines about faith comes from the movie The Incredibles.   

There’s a scene where a mom and her kids are on a plane that’s about to be blown apart.  The mom calls on her daughter to put a shield around the plane, something bigger than she’s ever done before.  The daughter panics and in her doubt she can’t do it.  The plane explodes, but not before the mom grabs her kids to parachute into the water below.

Later, when the daughter apologizes, her mom responds:

“It isn’t your fault.  It wasn’t fair for me to suddenly ask so much of you. But things are different now.  And doubt is a luxury we can’t afford anymore, sweetie.  You have more power than you realize. Don’t think. And don’t worry. If the time comes, you’ll know what to do. It’s in your blood.”

There are times in our lives when it’s OK to doubt.  But there comes a time in each of our lives where “doubt is a luxury you can’t afford anymore.”  You either believe or you don’t, and the outcome depends on what you choose to believe.  The truth is, as a Christian, you do have more power than you realize.  When you put your faith in Christ, God puts a seed of faith within you.  It’s in your blood.

My goal in the coming weeks is to strengthen your faith, to help you believe that God is who He says He is and that He will do what He says He will do.

If you’ve already put your faith in Christ, I want to strengthen the faith that’s already within you.  If you haven’t yet put your faith in Christ, I want to help you get to the point where you can put your faith in Him.

I want to get you to the point where the Apostle Paul was at the end of the book of Acts.

Like the mom and her kids in The Incredibles, Paul was on a ship that was about to be blown apart.  Hurricane force winds had pummeled his boat for days.  The other men on the ship had given up all hope of being saved. But just as the men think all is lost, Paul stands up and says:

“…keep up your courage, because not one of you will be lost; only the ship will be destroyed. Last night an angel of the God whose I am and whom I serve stood beside me and said, ‘Do not be afraid, Paul. You must stand trial before Caesar; and God has graciously given you the lives of all who sail with you.’ So keep up your courage, men, for I have faith in God that it will happen just as He told me” (Acts 27:22-25).  

And it did.

That’s the kind of faith God wants you to have, a faith that says, “I have faith in God it will happen just as He told me.” In the coming weeks, I want to walk with you through the book of Acts, chapter by chapter, taking a look at the various ways faith expressed itself in the lives of the very first followers of Christ.  Sometimes God called them to wait.  Other times He called them to stand up.  Still other times He called them to speak, to pray, to give, to heal, to raise people from the dead.

My hope and prayer is that God will use this time to increase your faith to the point where you can say, like the Apostle Paul, “…for I have faith in God that it will happen just as He told me.”

I also want to encourage you to read each day’s Scripture Reading in your own Bible in addition to my devotional for that day.  I’ve limited myself to touching upon just one thought in each chapter of Acts, but there’s so much God may speak to you about other subjects in your life.  When you’re done reading all the daily Scripture Readings, you’ll have read through the entire book of Acts.

And finally, I’ve included a prayer at the end of each devotional to help you focus your own prayers by praying them along with me.  Here’s today’s prayer.

Prayer:  Father, I pray that You would fill me with faith in the days ahead, a faith that can say, “I have faith in God that it will happen just as He told me.” In Jesus’ name, Amen.

Share a Comment

