This Week’s Sermon- Living Life With No Regrets


This Day's Thought from The Ranch Logo

Living Life With No Regrets
Part 6 of “How to Keep Trusting in God, Even in the Face of Significant Loss”
by Eric Elder, featuring an interview with Lana Elder
www.theranch.org

We had a wonderful “Night of Worship” here at The Ranch last night!  Thanks to those of you who came and to those of you who prayed for the night to be a blessed one.  It was!

Thanks, too, for your gracious notes from places like the Philippines and South Africa, saying you wish you could be here.  We hope to make this an annual event, so perhaps in the future we can meet many more of you in person as well.

During the night I shared 3 video clips of my dear wife Lana that were filmed last year on November 1st, 2012, just two weeks before she passed away.  She had a message that I felt was perfect for the evening.

So as we were worshipping outside by the bonfire, under the stars, and with a half-moon shining, we projected the video of Lana onto the side of the barn and enjoyed hearing what she had to say to us about “living life of no regrets.”

I’d like to share those 3 clips with you today as well.  I believe they’ll be particularly helpful to you if you’re wrestling with a big decision and don’t know what to do, or if you’re just wondering how you can make the most of the life God has given you.

This video was shot by a film team who heard about our situation and offered to spend the day with us at our home, just to capture some memories for us and to offer hope to others who might face a similar loss in the future.  Lana agreed, and we spent an amazing day with Drew Waters, Josh Spake, and by Skype, Josh’s wife Candice.

Although the film team will be putting all the footage they shot that day into another format, editing it for their own purposes as background for an upcoming movie called Nouvelle Vie (which means “new life” in French) they’ve graciously allowed us to use the raw footage for other purposes like this that I’m sharing with you today.

I’ve posted these 3 clips in one video on our website at the link below, or you can read the message in the transcript below that.

Here’s the link to the video…

Lana Elder – Living Life With No Regrets

And here’s the transcript…

Candice:  A lot of people in your position are very fearful, very scared, very worried, but you have come at this from a whole stance of hope, which is very, again I use the word profound.  Because it’s unusual, and it’s so–you can just see how God is working and continues to work in your life.  And so, describe what that peace is like for you and how it’s helped you battle fear, anxiety, being scared and stuff like that.

Lana:  Well, I’ve always tried to live my life with no regrets.  And so, whenever I had a big decision to make, I would think–obviously I would pray about it and ask God what’s best, and then I would just have to say, “Will I regret having made this decision?”  Especially ones like–I went to college, I met my husband Eric in college and we got married shortly after college and I was pregnant with my first child and had to decide whether I would stay at home or work, and staying at home meant a severe cutback in pay.  But I wanted to live a life of no regrets, so I decided I would rather stay home and be with my child, than have the money and have some other luxuries.  And it’s a decision I’ve never regretted.  So I’ve been a stay at home mom all my life–or since college.  I know at times some people would wonder why I would get a college degree and then not even use it and stay home.  But I remember thinking, even as I was making that decision, if something were to happen to me or one of my children–a death–I would have regretted going to work.  So I was really glad–I mean, not glad, but when I found this out–it just made me glad that I hadn’t taken my life to go to work and missed seeing my kids grow up.  It just changes everything.  My kids, I just love to be around them.  And so, having made that decision gives me great hope for situations like this that I made the right decision.  It made some impact on our finances, but the other impact is, I think, much greater–the impact it had on my kids’ lives, because I wouldn’t have been able to take them to a lot of the programs like AWANA scripture memorization.  I would have been too busy.  And my kids, I love them, and they have great hope in God as well and love Jesus, and I think that’s because of the way they were brought up.

Candice:  How do you describe the peace that passes all understanding in your life?  What does that feel like?  Describe that from your perspective.

Lana:  The peace that surpasses all understanding is just really being with God.  And when you’re reading scripture, or in worship, it’s so wonderful to have that peace.  And even having made decisions, and seeing how they impact your life over the years, how that decision that impacts your life, and you know that it’s a good decision, that just gives you great peace, knowing that you did the right thing.

Eric:  Can I just have her clarify one thing, too, that not everybody chooses to stay home, if she just could talk about that, that this was the vision for what you [Lana] wanted to do, but other people are called to do other things, because she believes that strongly.  I just don’t want to give the wrong impression.  So maybe you could just say something about that.

Lana:  Absolutely.  Yes, I do want to clarify that.  Not everyone is called to stay at home.  There are certainly many instances where women are called to go to work, or both parents can go to work, but for me, it was really just what I was called to do.  That’s just how God created me, just to be a mother and stay home with my kids.

Candice:  I think that’s wonderful.  The reason it’s wonderful is because I think you mentioned a couple things:  One is that you would have been too busy to go to AWANA or scripture memory class and that greatly impacted your kids, and two, you mentioned that, in situations like this, you’ve been able to spend your life with your kids.  That’s what you wanted.  And I think it just makes it perfect the point that you are in God’s will and right where you need to be, where He has you in this pursuit of what you’ve dedicated your life to, and so I commend you for that.    I think that you have fulfilled that calling beautifully.  Another question I had for you is, I wanted to see what some of the messages are that you have for Eric and your kids, so let’s start with Eric.  What is something that you would like to share with him?  What is a message you have for him?

Lana:  Eric is just incredible. He’s incredibly talented and can play the piano, write music, do carpentry work, he knows everything about the computer, and he’s incredibly gifted.  So I just want him to press on, keep going with a lot of the projects he’s already started.  I know he has a couple that he and I have been working on together–the Saint Nicholas project, talking about the life of Christ and how much he [Nicholas] was a believer in Jesus and that’s how he became so famous as Saint Nicholas, our Santa Claus right now.  So I just want him to continue to press on with things.  I know he will and God will use him greatly.  I love him incredibly much.  He’s my prince and he takes incredible care of me and the kids.  So I’m not worried.  That’s another thing that makes passing into heaven at this time just so peaceful, because I know the kids are going to be in great hands, with Eric taking care of them.

Candice:  Thank you for sharing that Lana.  What about for the kids?  What message do you want to tell the kids?

Lana:  My kids have been just wonderful.  I was blessed, again, to be able to homeschool, and Eric encouraged me to do that as well [because Lana had the idea and wanted to try it].  He was a great encouragement, and my kids, I just know that they love Jesus.  That’s been great comfort to know that they’re going to do great in life in whatever God has called them to do.  I don’t know what they’re called to do, each of them yet, but I just know that they’ll do well, because everything they do, they do so well at.  I have no fear of anything going wrong, I just know they’re going to be blessed for the rest of their lives.  I had six blessings.  They’re awesome.  I’m going to miss them.

Candice:  What dreams do you have for your kids?

Lana:  My dreams for my kids is just that they would love the Lord with all their heart, soul, mind and strength.  And they do that, and so whatever dreams that they have, I know that God will help them fulfill them, whatever it is.  Because if they keep seeking God, they’re going to be on the straight path.  They’ll do what God’s called them to do and so that’s my dream, that they would do that, they would just keep loving Jesus, and loving each other and loving their neighbors.

Candice:  Lana, what dreams do you have for Eric?

Lana:  Pretty much the same thing.  Like I said, he’s incredibly talented, and gifted and can do anything, and he has great dreams for some projects that he’s working on, and I just pray that he can just continue to fulfill those dreams and do what God’s called him to do.  I know that God has a unique plan for my family, but for everyone, God has a unique plan, and I know that if they just keep following Jesus, and asking Him for direction, they’ll do well.  And your dreams [Eric] will come true.

Eric:  They have.  They already have.

Lana:  I know.  Love you, buddy.

Drew:  I’ve got a question for you.  What do you hope that people watching this get from it?

Lana:  I would hope that the people that are watching this, that they would know that they have a unique calling in life.  Everyone God created so uniquely, like everybody has different fingerprints, just so unique.  So I would hope that people watching this would know that God created them uniquely, that He has different dreams for them as well.  But if they keep following God, or asking God for direction, that God will show them what their unique place is in the world, what they’re uniquely designed or created to do, that they would just keep seeking God, and keep seeking the answers to what they feel called to do.

Drew:  Lana, I’ve got another question for you, and this is a very direct question, so I apologize for it, but you don’t seem fearful of death.  Why is that?

Lana:  I’m actually not fearful of death and I believe, the only thing I can attribute it to, is just having followed God for so long, waking up and talking to Him each day, throughout the day, He’s helped me through many things.  And since I am talking to Him all the day long, death will be just like meeting Him and talking to Him all day long–but without my kids and family [laughter].  I don’t know why I don’t fear death, but God has been such a loving God to me and I feel like I’ve been so blessed throughout my life, like I said earlier, about living my life with no regrets, and just doing everything I’ve wanted to do.  Even the past years, I’ve gone everywhere I’ve wanted to go.  I wanted to go to Israel and see the Holy Land and I got to go there five years ago, and then miraculously got to go two years after that.  So I’ve been to Israel twice and I’m so blessed to have done that.  So I’ve done everything I’ve wanted to do, and I don’t have–there’s not like one place I’d like to go see still or anything that I still need to accomplish.  So I feel like I’ve done everything, and I can go see Jesus at any time.  It would be fine.  But I know it’s hard for people who I’m leaving behind.  Since my diagnosis, I’ve tried to live my life like I’m going to live.  I didn’t want to live like I’m going to die.  I wanted to live like I’m going to live.  So that’s all I’ve done, just keep going on with the normal day.  But I know it’s hard for the people that are left behind, because I feel their pain.  I feel sorry for them, because I would like to be with them as well.  But also, I just love Jesus, and I’m looking forward to that day, too.

Eric [later that day]:  They just asked me to say a few words to you, and there’s just not enough words to express what you’ve meant to me.  I remember on our wedding day, I just said to you that you were a gift from God to me, and I wanted to treat you as a gift.  You’ve been just a super gift, and I feel like I’ve unwrapped layer after layer of you.  You’ve just given yourself to me in everything.  You have sacrificed so much for me, for the ministry, for the kids–just everything.  You’re a giver, and you’ve just given your life away.  And I can’t think of anything better you could do with your life.  You don’t just live your life, you give your life.  That means so much to me, and I know that’s going to mean a lot to our kids, just to know that your life was not lived in vain, and that your death won’t be in vain if you do die.  If you’re healed, hallelujah, that won’t be in vain either.

I gave this to Lana–it’s a little plaque–for our anniversary back in April this year, and it says, “And they lived happily ever after.”  It just reminds me of the joy that we’ve had together.  You know, I’m going to cry a lot, if you pass away.  But I felt like God said, “Tearfulness is OK.  Fearfulness is not.”  So I think it’s OK to be tearful, but I’m not fearful either.

And this just came in the mail today.  I just got two more tiles for your collection here and I just wanted to unwrap this with you.  This is a quote from Alfred Lloyd Tennyson.  It says:

“If I had a flower for every time I thought of you, I could walk through my garden forever.”

It’s so true.  I’m sure there won’t be a day that goes by that I don’t think about you.  And this is really from me, and the kids, and from everybody that knows you, and it just says, “You are loved.”  And you are.

Lana:  You’re really good at expressing your love to me all the time.  You’re just always so kind and so generous.  He [Eric] makes it easy for me to love him because he’s so much like Jesus, always thoughtful and kind and he puts me above himself all the time.  He wants to make sure I’m taken care of.  So I just appreciate these things, too, his gracious, kind gifts, thoughtful gifts, just incredible.

Eric:  Thanks.  And I’m not like Jesus, but I was thinking just last week as you were just laying in bed and the pain was on you, and even in your pain you were writing a message to our subscribers in different countries and giving them hope and encouraging them with your hope.  And I was just thinking of Jesus on the cross, just going through the pain and suffering for each one of us, and I thought, “Wow, you’re like Jesus!  I’m married to someone like Jesus!”  So I’m just so thankful to you and I just love you so much.

Lana:  Thanks, thanks a lot.  I love you.

Josh:  Let me ask you a couple questions.  To your children, what is your wife’s legacy?

Eric:  For my children, just to say what Lana’s legacy is, I think her heartbeat is to give.  She wants to give, give and give some more.  And I think it’s hard for her to do.  I think she’s struggled with it because we have so many needs.  We all have needs.  The kids have needs, and Lana has needs, and yet she’s just given so much.   We give money away and we give things away and she gives food away and she just gives away.  I feel like she’s a giver.  I know that’s her heart, even for some of the projects we’re working on now, just to tell, for instance, the Saint Nicholas story, of a man who gave his life away, too, because he was following the One who gave His life for all of us.  So I think that’s her legacy.  I feel like she’s following Jesus and that she denies herself many times so that she can give, and I don’t think that you can get better than that.

Josh:  How long have you all been married?

Eric:  We’ve been married 23 years, and we’ve known each other 28 years, and they’ve been super, all super.  I have no regrets.  I can’t complain that she’s being taken now.  How could I complain to God and say, “God, why did you take her?”  All I should be able to do is say, “God thank You!  How could you possibly love me so much that You would give me 28 years with her?” So I’m sad. I’m disappointed if you go.  But I cannot complain, for one single day.

Josh:  How is she not replaceable?

Eric:  How is she not replaceable?  I can’t think of how she is replaceable.  I can’t imagine anything–I mean there is nothing that could replace her.  She’s a unique creation of God–one of a kind.  There’s no replacing any one of us.  We’re all here for a reason, we’re all here for a purpose, just like Lana.  There are lots of people that we love, lots of people that are friends, lots of people that do a lot for us and we’re really close to, and I don’t think any of us are replaceable.

Josh:  I’m going to ask one more question.  So the heart of the story of Nouvelle Vie is finding life.  And we don’t know what’s going to happen, right?  You know God is a miraculous God and God could really pull through, or He may choose not to, and whatever it is, He’s glorified in all things.  If God chooses to take your wife from you, how do you persevere?  How do you go on?

Eric:  Nouvelle Vie means “new life,” and for me, as a Christian, I’ve already been given a new life.  And some people say, even if Lana dies, we’re going to pray and raise her from the dead.  And I love that.  I would love to do that.  I have prayed that for some of my friends in the past, too.  But the truth is, I know what being dead is like, and I’ve already been dead, and Jesus has already raised me from the dead.  I’ve now got a new life and now I’m going on.  I’m going to have a new life forever because of Jesus and what He’s done for me.  So we could pray that Lana would be raised from the dead, and that might happen, but the truth is that she’s already been raised from the dead.  She knows what a dead life is like and she’s been given a new life already, and that’s going to continue on for eternity.  So to me, that’s part of the hope of Nouvelle Vie, that it speaks about the new life that we can have right now, today, starting this very day.  You don’t have to wait till you die to be raised from the dead.  You can be resurrected.  You can be redeemed.  You can be restored, anytime you choose to just put your faith in Christ, to ask Him to forgive you of your sins.  He will take you to be with Him forever in heaven, and give you a whole new life here on earth.  So that’s the hope that I have, and the courage that I have, that your passing [Lana] really is “passing.”  As the Bible says, it’s a sleeping, you fall asleep, then you’ll be woken up by Jesus when He comes back for us.  It’ll be a short sleep for you, and maybe a long few years for us, but in the light of eternity, it’ll just be a blink of an eye, and I can’t wait to see you again.


Ask for Prayer | Contact Us | Website | Subscribe | Facebook | Twitter | TumblrBookstore


As a thank-you for your donation of any size to our ministry, we’d be glad to send you our DVD, “To Lana, With Love,” featuring the Celebration of the Life of Lana Elder, who passed away on November 15th, 2012.  Lana was the wife of Eric Elder and co-founder of The Ranch. “To Lana, With Love” also includes the short inspirational video, “Eric’s Hope,” to give hope and encouragement to others facing loss.
Click here to learn more or to make a donation.

To Lana, With Love

One thought on “This Week’s Sermon- Living Life With No Regrets

Share a Comment

